Sonoma County: News and Notes

Just a reminder if you are interested in visiting a great BNI group (see last week’s post) come visit us at Legends at the Bennett Valley Golf Course on Fridays just before 7AM. The “Best Networkers In Town” would be happy to have you visit. Great, free way to meet around 40 Business People here in Sonoma County. If you want any other information about this let me know.

For the next few weeks, I will be doing my reviews of quarterly earnings for the local technology companies. They are all headquartered in Sonoma County. I want to let you know why I do these reviews.

The first reason is to get all of you to think broadly about business in the North Bay. We are so heavily dependent on the Wine Business that I would like to promote a broader economic base. The industries that have been doing well on top of that business are the Brewers, Distillers and Food Manufacturers. I get a bit nervous because all of these industries are dependent on water. Given our drought conditions, we may wish to consider how to get more business less dependent on water. High Technology also has the advantage that it employs workers at a relatively high wage, driving a larger economic gain per employee. All of seems to me to be a good reason to get behind some growth in our local Tech community.

The second reason was to provide visibility to those public companies. You may have noted my interviews with small businesses in other issues of this blog. It is hard to get larger, public companies to let you interview them. So, a review of public information that can bring value to people seemed like a good way to get started. On top of that Quarterly Earnings calls are sales vehicles for stock. These calls have a rhythm and a language unto themselves. I am hoping that I can provide some common language information for readers to help them interpret these results. I suspect many local people invest in these local companies. I think it is a service to those local investors to provide them objective feedback on their stock holdings. I only use publicly available information so I am sure I am not breaking any confidences.

The final reason is simple and personal. These articles are pretty easy to write. Trying to come up with 500 words every other day is not as easy as it looks. This makes my blog writing more efficient for me. Always a good thing.

I would be happy to post about other companies headquartered in the North Bay. If anyone has any that they would like me to add to the agenda please let me know. I am happy to talk privately about any stock to anyone. Just realize what I am doing here is NOT stock advice. It is information about the current status of a company taken to common speech. I hope that lets each of you make your own calls.

Have a great day!

Jim Sackman
Focal Point Business Coaching
Change Your Business – Change Your Life!
Business Coaching, Sales Training, Marketing Consultant, Behavioral Assessments, Business Planning

Leave a Reply

